Why I’m Saying ‘Yes’ and Un-taming Myself

Why, even if you think you’re living your dreams, you may be holding back. Now is the time to claim YOUR wild.

Mary Ann Lopez
4 min readNov 10, 2020
Photo by Charl Durand on Unsplash

As I sit here and write, I have a few quotes flowing through my head. Normally, I have bumper-sticker type quotes helping me stay motivated. Really. I seriously do. I also know that when something becomes too habitual for me, like motivational quotes, I tend to forget the true meaning and weight behind the words.

The other day, I was walking my dog Sadie and listening to the Marie Forleo podcast. Glennon Doyle was the guest. I’d read her book “Untamed” and thought it was good. While I was actively reading the book, it didn’t make a huge impact on me. I’d heard some people were crying as they read it, but not me. I liked it well enough, but it didn’t blow my mind.

As I listened to her conversation with Marie Forleo, she told a story from the book about the cheetah and the pink bunny. Long story short, the cheetah, Tabitha, was raised in a zoo and had a dog as a friend. The dog helped tame the cheetah. During her zoo visit, Doyle and her daughter watched in dismay at the cheetah’s act, which amounted to Tabitha chasing the dirty pink bunny. The pair were so disturbed at the sight of this beautiful, magnificent animal being relegated to chasing…

--

--

Mary Ann Lopez

I’m a writer who is trying not to take herself too seriously. Genres include personal essay, lifestyle, health & wellness, mindfulness and manifestation.